Libraries Home | My Library Account Rutgers Home | Search Rutgers
line break

Databases

Use the following databases to search for journal articles, etc. See the Biomedical & Health LibGuides section for appropriate databases to use for a particular subject.

An expanded selection of medical/health databases is available due to the Rutgers integration. Display the main Rutgers Libaries database list.

The EndNote program enables you to collect references from catalogs and databases for inclusion in presentations and papers.

Databases starting with:   A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X Y Z 
Database Description
Academic Search Premier NJ State Library Covers a wide range of academic areas including arts, business, communication, education, humanities, language and linguistics, literature, sciences, social sciences, technology and women's studies.
AccessMedicine AccessMedicine.com is a resource that provides complete references and services for physicians, students, and health professionals who need immediate access to authoritative and current medical data. Updated daily.
AccessPharmacy AccessPharmacy is an online curricular resource designed to meet the changing demands of pharmacy education. It allows students to select a core curriculum topic, browse by organ system, and review textbooks. Integrated case studies, care plans, self-assessment tools, and NAPLEX review help students to develop and track key skills.
AGRICOLA AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access) is a bibliographic database of citations to the agricultural literature created by the National Agricultural Library (NAL) and its cooperators.

Available to the public

AIDSinfo

infoSIDA (En español)

AIDSinfo offers federally approved information on research, clinical trials, and treatment for patients and health care providers. SEE ALSO THE HIV/AIDS Libguide

Available to the public

Alcohol and Alcohol Problems Science Database [ETOH] Produced by the National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA), ETOH contains over 110,000 records, including references to journal articles, books, dissertation abstracts, conference papers and proceedings, reports and studies, and chapters in edited works.

Available to the public

Alcohol Studies Database The Alcohol Studies Database contains records for books, book chapters, journal articles, government documents, conference papers, and dissertations covering biomedical and psychosocial aspects of alcohol use, as well as a growing number of records on other drug use/abuse.

Available to the public

ALTBIB: Bibliography on Alternatives to Animal Testing This resource is useful in identifying methods and procedures helpful in supporting the development, testing, application, and validation of alternatives to the use of vertebrates in biomedical research and toxicology testing.

Available to the public

American Pharmacists Association PharmacyLibrary
(APHA PharmacyLibrary)
PharmacyLibrary features content from a selection of APhA's authoritative textbooks, an interactive NAPLEX review, case studies, article abstracts from the Journal of the American Pharmacists Association and a variety of news sources.
Bacteriology Abstracts (Microbiology B) This database provides research articles on biotechnology (medical, agricultural, and environmental) and bioengineering.
BioMed Central BioMed Central is an independent publishing house committed to providing immediate open access to peer-reviewed biomedical research. All original research articles published by BioMed Central are made freely and permanently accessible online immediately upon publication.

Available to the public

Biomedical & Life Sciences Collection
(Henry Stewart Talks)
The Biomedical & Life Sciences Collection includes over 1,500 seminar style presentations containing the latest research and developments as well as the disciplines fundamentals from many of the world's leading experts, including Nobel Laureates. The talks can be embedded into websites, web pages and learning portals. The talks are also mobile compatible.
Biomedical Reference Collection: Comprehensive Disciplines covered include: clinical medicine, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the pre-clinical sciences.
BIOSIS Previews BIOSIS Previews database is a comprehensive index to life science and biomedical research.
Biotechnology Research Abstracts Biotechnology Research Abstracts provides access to international research on all aspects of biochemical, medical, and microbial technology as applied to bioengineering, medicine, agriculture and environmental science.
Books@OVID Wolters Kluwer Health/OvidSP Books@Ovid is a full-text collection of respected medical, nursing, and pharmacy texts from a variety of publishers. It offers the complete text of these sources in a highly interlinked and easily navigated graphical interface.
Business Source Premier NJ State LibraryContains journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. This database is updated daily.
CAB Abstracts CAB Abstracts, a subset of CAB Direct, is a comprehensive database in the applied life sciences.
Calcium & Calcified Tissue Abstracts This database assembles pertinent information from wide-ranging sources, reflecting the multi-disciplinary nature of calcium research.
CDC Wonder Search for and retrieve MMWR articles and Prevention Guidelines published by the CDC. Query public use data sets about mortality, cancer incidence, hospital discharges, AIDS, behavioral risk factors, diabetes and other topics.

Available to the public

CHEMM
(Chemical Hazards Emergency Medical Management)
CHEMM, the Chemical Hazards Emergency Medical Management site, is part of a collection of disaster preparedness databases. Its goal is to enable first responders, first receivers, healthcare providers and planners to plan for, respond to, recover from, and mitigate the effects of mass-casualty incidents involving chemicals. CHEMM may be downloaded so it can be available dring an event or if the Internet is unavailable.

Available to the public

Chemoreception Abstracts This database brings together studies from many diverse disciplines relating to chemoreception.
CINAHL EBSCOhostCINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature) is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. SEE ALSO THE Nursing Libguide
ClinicalTrials.gov The U.S. National Institutes of Health, through its National Library of Medicine, has developed ClinicalTrials.gov to provide patients, family members and members of the public current information about clinical research studies.

Available to the public

Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials
Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
Cochrane Methodology Register

Part of Cochrane Library
Cochrane Library

Quick Reference Guide PDF

The Cochrane Library contains high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It includes reliable evidence from Cochrane and other systematic reviews, clinical trials, and more. Cochrane reviews bring you the combined results of the world's best medical research studies, and are recognised as the gold standard in evidence-based health care.

Includes: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews -- Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials -- Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews -- Cochrane Methodology Register -- Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects -- Health Technology Assessment Database -- NHS Economic Evaluation Database.

SEE ALSO THE EBM Libguide
Community of Science [COS] Site now available as Pivot
Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects [DARE]
Part of Cochrane Library
Complements the Cochrane Reviews by quality-assessing and summarising reviews which have not been carried out by the Cochrane Collaboration. The database covers a broad range of health and social care topics and can be used for answering questions about the effects of interventions, as well as for developing guidelines and policy making.

Available to the public from the NHS Centre for Reviews and Dissemination

Dietary Supplement Label Database and Fact Sheets The National Institutes of Health's Office of Dietary Supplements has undertaken a series of initiatives that will lead to the development of a database providing the composition of dietary supplements derived from analytical chemical data. This site includes fact sheets about various dietary supplements, plus mobile apps and specific information for the geriatric user population.

Available to the public

Dissertations & Theses

Dissertations & Theses @ Rutgers University

Dissertations & Theses includes records for foreign dissertations beginning in the year 1637 and U.S. dissertations beginning with the first one, accepted in 1861.
Drug Information Portal The Drug Information Portal from the National Library of Medicine gives the public, healthcare professionals, and researchers a gateway to current, accurate and understandable drug information from the National Library of Medicine and other key government agencies. Links to the following resources contribute to the search results: MedlinePlus®, AIDSinfo®, Medline/PubMed®, LactMed, HSDB®, Dietary Supplements Labels Database, TOXLINE®, DailyMed®, ClinicalTrials.gov, PubChem, NIAID Anti-HIV/OI Database, ChemIDplus®, Drugs@FDA, DEA, and USA.gov.

Available to the public

DynaMed A "Just-In-Time" Internet reference integrating evidence based medicine with practical information for clinical practice on more than 1,800 clinical topics. DynaMed for PDA is now available. To obtain a serial number: Email dynamedsupport@epnet.com from your University email account (no other email accounts will be accepted) requesting a serial number for your PDA device, or, ask for a serial number from your campus library's information desk. SEE ALSO THE EBM Libguide
Eigenfactor The Eigenfactor Project™ is a non-commercial academic research project sponsored by the Bergstrom Lab in the Department of Biology at the University of Washington. It uses network analysis and information theory to develop novel methods for evaluating the influence of scholarly periodicals. Citation data is used to calculate both an Eigenfactor Score and an Article Influence Score. Metrics are available for years 2007 forward. The calculation is based on the number of times articles from journals published in the past five years have been cited in the year studied. It also considers which journals have contributed these citations.

Available to the public

eMedicine Provides the latest practice guidelines in 38 clinical areas. The eMedicine Clinical Knowledge Base contains articles on over 6,500 diseases and medical topics.

Individual registration required

Entrez, The Life Sciences Search Engine A great cross-database site, Entrez provides users with a way to search twenty (20) databases simultaneously. Includes:
Gene - Gene integrates information from a wide range of species. A record may include nomenclature, Reference Sequences (RefSeqs), maps, pathways, variations, phenotypes, and links to genome-, phenotype-, and locus-specific resources worldwide.
Genome - Information on whole genomes of viruses and microbes. Includes those for which sequencing is in progress.
Nucleotide - A collection of sequences from several sources, including GenBank, RefSeq, and PDB.
Protein - The Protein database is a collection of sequences from several sources, including translations from annotated coding regions in GenBank, RefSeq and TPA, as well as records from SwissProt, PIR, PRF, and PDB.
Structure - The Molecular Modeling Database (MMDB) contains 3D macromolecular structures, including proteins and polynucleotides.

Available to the public

ERIC VALE ERIC is the world's largest source of education information. The database contains more than one million abstracts of education-related documents and journal articles.

Available to the public from the U.S. Dept. of Education

Essential Evidence Plus

1st time Registration
Re-Registration

A database of filtered, synopsized, evidence-based information, this integrated search engine allows you to simultaneously search multiple databases: EBM Guidelines; Daily POEMs; Cochrane Abstracts; Selected Practice Guidelines; Decision Support Calculators; H&P Calculators; Diagnostic Test Calculators; Derm Expert; E/M Coding; ICD-9 Lookup Tool. Content is downloadable for use with PocketPC and PalmOS handheld devices. SEE ALSO THE EBM Libguide
Facts & Comparisons 4.0 For more than fifty years, Drug Facts and Comparisons has been providing unbiased, essential and appropriate drug information.
FIRSTConsult A web and PDA based clincial information system that provides continuously updated, evidence-based guidance on the latest in patient evaluation, diagnosis, and management. Designed for rapid access at the point of patient care.

Note: You may also access FIRSTConsult by logging in to your MD Consult account and clicking on the FIRSTConsult logo in the upper right hand corner of the page.

Foundation Directory Online (Professional) The Foundation Directory Online (Professional) provides information on more than 100,000 foundations, corporate giving programs, and grant making public charities in the US.
Gene NCBIGene integrates information from a wide range of species. A record may include nomenclature, Reference Sequences (RefSeqs), maps, pathways, variations, phenotypes, and links to genome-, phenotype-, and locus-specific resources worldwide.

Available to the public

Genome NCBIThis resource organizes information on genomes including sequences, maps, chromosomes, assemblies, and annotations. Includes those for which sequencing is in progress.

Available to the public

Google Scholar Google Scholar is a search engine for scholarly literature, including articles, books, theses, abstracts, and technical reports. Many of the search results link to abstracts at PubMed. If journals are available to the public or if the University Libraries have licensed the resource, you should be able to retrieve the full text from the publisher links. Note, however, that by entering PubMed from Google Scholar you will not see the Findit@RBHS button.

Available to the public from this link - Google Scholar

H1N1 (Influenza) Searchable Information Center Allows the user to search the contents of PDF documents, papers, newsletters, posters, other important materials from government agencies and other authoritative sites about "H1N1 (aka the "swine flu").

Available to the public

Health and Psychosocial Instruments Health and Psychosocial Instruments features material on unpublished measurement tools discussed in the journal literature.
Health and Safety Science Abstracts This database is published in association with the University of Southern California's Institute of Safety and Systems Management and surveys recent work relating to public health, safety and industrial hygiene.
Health and Wellness Resource Center A collection of general interest health and fitness magazines, medical and professional periodicals, definitions, and directories. Included are links to diet, cancer, and health assessment sites as well as government databases. Includes some full-text.
Health Reference Center - Academic A collection of general interest health and fitness magazines, medical and professional periodicals, reference books and pamphlets. Includes some full-text.
Health Services / Technology Assessment Text [HSTAT] HSTAT provides access to full-text documents useful for providing health information and for health care decision-making. Includes: clinical practice guidelines, quick-reference guides for clinicians, consumer health brochures, evidence reports and technology assessments from the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ).

Available to the public

Health Technology Assessment Database
Part of Cochrane Library
HealthSTAR Wolters Kluwer Health/OvidSP Contains citations and abstracts to the published literature on health services, technology, administration, and research. Information is derived from MEDLINE, the Hospital Literature Index, and selected journals. Additional records specially indexed for this database do not appear in any other NLM database. Includes some full-text.
Henry Stewart Talks
(Biomedical & Life Sciences Collection)
The Biomedical & Life Sciences Collection includes over 1,500 seminar style presentations containing the latest research and developments as well as the disciplines fundamentals from many of the world's leading experts, including Nobel Laureates. The talks can be embedded into websites, web pages and learning portals. The talks are also mobile compatible.
HighWire Press HighWire Press is a division of the Stanford University Libraries, which produces the online versions of high-impact, peer-reviewed journals and other scholarly content. HighWire partners with influential scholarly societies, university presses and publishers to create a collection of the finest, fully searchable research and clinical literature online. HighWire Press also hosts the largest repository of free full-text life science articles in the world, with 1,722,129 articles available without subscription.

Available to the public from this link - HighWire Press

History of Science, Technology, and Medicine The History of Science, Technology, and Medicine database indexes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science, technology, and medicine and allied historical fields.
HuGE Navigator HuGE Navigator provides access to a continuously updated knowledge base in human genome epidemiology, including information on population prevalence of genetic variants, gene-disease associations, gene-gene and gene- environment interactions, and evaluation of genetic tests.

Available to the public

Human Gene Mutation Database The Human Gene Mutation Database (HGMD) represents an attempt to collate known (published) gene lesions responsible for human inherited disease.

Individual registration required

Human Genome Abstracts This database offers a comprehensive source for developments and promising applications emerging from international genome research, including the massive Human Genome Project.
Immunology Abstracts Studies are summarized relating to all aspects of immune systems in man and animals, including normal functions and disorders.
Industrial and Applied Microbiology Abstracts (Microbiology A) Significant findings and practical applications in agricultural, food and beverage, chemical, and pharmaceutical industries are assembled in this database.
InfoSci-Books InfoSci-Books is a fully searchable database of electronic books. It provides access to chapters from books and reference works that were published by IGI Global from 2000 through 2009.
infoSIDA

AIDSinfo (En ingles)

infoSIDA ofrece acceso a información actualizada en español sobre el tratamiento de la infección por el VIH/SIDA y ensayos clínicos desarrollados específicamente para las comunidades afectadas por dicha infección y para otras comunidades de atención de salud. SEE ALSO THE HIV/AIDS Libguide

Available to the public

International Pharmaceutical Abstracts The International Pharmaceutical Abstracts (IPA) database is the primary source for drug information. It provides worldwide coverage of pharmacology, pharmacy and health related literature from 1970 to the present, and is updated monthly.
Journal Citation Reports Journal Citation Reports is a comprehensive and unique resource that allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from over 11,000 scholarly and technical journals from more than 3,300 publishers in over 80 countries. It includes virtually all areas of science, technology, and social sciences
RBHS Journals@Ovid Wolters Kluwer Health/OvidSP A full-text database of the Ovid journals to which Smith and RWJ Library subscribes. Access to PsycARTICLES is included.
JoVE
Journal of Visualized Experiments
Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) is a peer reviewed, PubMed indexed journal devoted to the publication of biological, medical, chemical and physical research in a video format. JoVE was established as a new tool in life science publication and communication, with participation of scientists from leading research institutions. JoVE takes advantage of video technology to capture and transmit the multiple facets and intricacies of life science research.
Lexicomp Online The Lexicomp Monographs are an excellent resource for drug doses, mechanisms of action, drug interactions and adverse effects. This is an excellent point-of care resource.
The Lindex The Lindex is a Web-based database that provides users with 130 years' worth of information on the collective disease experience of the Jewish population of the United States. It covers 550 diseases. The Lindex was created by Jacob J. Lindenthal, Ph.D., NJMS Department of Psychiatry.

Available to the public

LISTA The Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) database is provided by EBSCO as a free resource to anyone interested in libraries and information management.

Available to the public

MDConsult MDConsult provides full-text access to over 80 medical journals and Clinics, 50 leading medical references across a wide range of specialties, clinically relevant drug information, and over 15,000 patient handouts.

Note: Patrons may also create a personal account. Personal accounts allow access to more features and are available only to currently affiliated RBHS students, staff or faculty. A personal account is recquired to use MD Consult Mobile, which gives access to the books, journals, Clinics and guidelines through web-enabled smartphones like the iPhone, Blackberry, etc.

Registration for a new personal account must be from a computer on the local network. After registration, a personal account may be used off-site.

MedCalc 3000 STAT!Ref MedCalc 3000 is a medical reference and tool set. It encompasses a wide array of pertinent medical formulae, clinical criteria sets and decision tree analysis tools used everyday by clinicians, medical educators, nurses and health care students of all types.
MEDLINE (1996 - Current)

MEDLINE (1948 - Current)

oldMEDLINE (1946 - 1965)

MEDLINE In-Process & Other Non-Indexed Citations

Wolters Kluwer Health/OvidSP Premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of the biomedical literature. 1948 - Current includes some full-text. 1946 - 1965 contains citations originally printed in hardcopy indexes. MEDLINE In-Process provides basic information and abstracts before a record is indexed with MeSH headings and added to MEDLINE.
Mental Measurements Yearbook EBSCOhostProvides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. Contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership.
MICAD
Molecular Imaging and Contrast Agent Database
The Molecular imaging and contrast agent database (MICAD) is an online source of information on in vivo molecular imaging agents based on recommendations from the extramural community. The database includes agents developed for positron emission tomography (PET), single photon emission computed tomography (SPECT), magnetic resonance imaging (MRI), ultrasound (US), computed tomography (CT), and optical imaging.

Available to the public

National Guideline Clearinghouse [NGC] This is a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines. NGC is sponsored by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality in partnership with the American Medical Association and the American Association of Health Plans.

Available to the public

Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database "Unbiased, Scientific Clinical Information on Complementary, Alternative, and Integrative Therapies"
Neurosciences Abstracts This database enables neuroscientists to keep abreast of major advances within the field and their implications for other medical specialties.
NHS Economic Evaluation Database
Part of Cochrane Library
NCBI Bookshelf Provides free access to books, reports and others documents in life science and healthcare. A vital node in the data-rich resource network at NCBI, Bookshelf enables users to easily browse, retrieve, and read content, and spurs discovery of related information.

Available to the public

NLM Gateway National Library of Medicine The NLM Gateway allows users to search in multiple retrieval systems at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM). The current Gateway searches MEDLINE/PubMed, OLDMEDLINE, LOCATORplus, MEDLINEplus, DIRLINE, AIDS Meetings, Health Services Research Meetings, and HSRProj.

Available to the public

NORD's Rare Disease Database This database from the National Organization for Rare Disorders contains more than 1,100 reports on rare disorders. These reports include information on symptoms, causes, treatments, clinical trials, and sources of help, such as patient support groups and voluntary health organizations. Unlimited access to reports, articles require additional fee.
Nucleotide NCBIThe Nucleotide database is a collection of sequences from several sources, including GenBank, RefSeq, TPA and PDB. Genome, gene and transcript sequence data provide the foundation for biomedical research and discovery.

Available to the public

Nursing & Allied Health Collection: Comprehensive The Nursing & Allied Health Collection: Comprehensive database contains nearly 400 full text journals that are indexed in CINAHL, including nearly 300 peer-reviewed titles covering the areas of nursing, biomedicine, health sciences, consumer health and allied health disciplines.
OMIM®
Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man
OMIM is a comprehensive, authoritative, and timely compendium of human genes and genetic phenotypes. The full-text, referenced overviews in OMIM contain information on all known mendelian disorders and over 12,000 genes. OMIM focuses on the relationship between phenotype and genotype.

Available to the public

Oncogenes and Growth Factors Abstracts Oncogenes and Growth Factors Abstracts covers every aspect of oncogene research into the molecular basis of malignant transformations.
OTseeker OTseeker, developed by a team of six occupational therapists from two Australian universities is an open access database that contains abstracts of systematic reviews and randomized controlled trials relevant to occupational therapy. Trials have been appraised and rated to assist users to evaluate their validity and interpretability.

Available to the public

PDQ
[Physician Data Query]
PDQ is NCI's comprehensive cancer database. It contains peer-reviewed summaries on cancer treatment, screening, prevention, genetics, and supportive care; a registry of open and closed cancer clinical trials from around the world; and directories of physicians, professionals who provide genetics services, and organizations that provide cancer care.

Available to the public

PEDro PEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database. PEDro is a free database of over 16,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. For each trial, review or guideline, PEDro provides the citation details, the abstract and a link to the full text, where possible. All trials on PEDro are independently assessed for quality. PEDro is produced by the Centre for Evidence-Based Physiotherapy at The George Institute for International Health.

Available to the public

PharmGKB The PharmGKB is a pharmacogenomics knowledge resource that encompasses clinical information including dosing guidelines and drug labels, potentially clinically actionable gene-drug associations and genotype-phenotype relationships.

PharmGKB accounts are required for both viewing data associated with individual identifiers (in order to protect the confidentiality of subjects) and submitting data. Pooled and summary data can be viewed without a PharmGKB account.

Available to the public

Physical Education Index Physical Education Index indexes a wide variety of content from peer-reviewed journals, report literature, conference proceedings, and trade magazines in topics ranging from physical education curricula, to sports medicine, to dance.
PILOTS PILOTS is the largest bibliographic database on the topics of PTSD in existence. PILOTS stands for Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress. It contains citations to published literature on the topic and provides information on a number of assessment instruments that are used to measure trauma exposure and PTSD. It is produced by the National Center for PTSD.

Available to the public

Pivot Individual registration is required to access some features. Users can find funding opportunities, search the databases (MEDLINE, Ei Compendex, AGRICOLA, U.S. Patents, etc.), read science news, and generate a curriculum vitae or a PHS 398 Biographical Sketch for NIH.

Available to the public from this link - Pivot

Access is sponsored by the Office of the Vice President for Research.

POPLINE POPLINE®(POPulation information onLINE), the world's largest database on reproductive health, containing citations with abstracts to scientific articles, reports, books, and unpublished reports in the field of population, family planning, and related health issues. POPLINE is maintained by the K4Health Project at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health/Center for Communication Programs and is funded by the United States Agency for International Development. (USAID).

Available to the public

ProQuest Biological Science Collection The collection contains biological science related full-text articles, granular access to figures and tables within articles, and the entire range of bibliographic records from Biological Sciences database.
ProQuest Natural Science Collection The Natural Science Collection provides access to nine databases covering scholarly and technical literature in the subject areas of agriculture, aquatic science, biology, conservation, earth & environmental sciences, education, food science, forestry, geography, medical sciences, meteorology, pharmacology, public health and safety, veterinary science, and water resources.
Proquest Social Sciences Premium Collection VALE Provides access to more than 160 key journals for the study of social sciences. Subjects include anthropology, community health and medical care, family studies, gender studies, international relations, minority studies, psychiatry, social work and more.
Protein NCBIThe Protein database is a collection of sequences from several sources, including translations from annotated coding regions in GenBank, RefSeq and TPA, as well as records from SwissProt, PIR, PRF, and PDB.

Available to the public

PsycARTICLES Wolters Kluwer Health/OvidSP PsycARTICLES is a collection of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association and allied organizations. It is available as a subset of the PsycINFO and Journals@Ovid databases. Use the limits function in OvidSP to retrieve PsycARTICLES.
PsychiatryOnline PsychiatryOnline provides access to a number of American Psychiatric Publishing books and journals including the DSM-IV-TR® and The American Journal of Psychiatry.
PsycINFO Wolters Kluwer Health/OvidSPPsycINFO provides abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. Updated weekly, PsycINFO provides access to journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations. Access to PsycARTICLES is included.
PubMed National Library of MedicinePubMed provides access to over 11 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.

Available to the public from this link - PubMed

PubMed Central National Library of MedicinePubMed Central is a digital archive of life sciences journal literature managed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM).

Available to the public

PubMed Health National Library of MedicinePubMed Health specializes in reviews of clinical effectiveness research, with easy-to-read summaries for consumers as well as full technical reports. These clinical effectiveness reviews can show what treatments and prevention methods have been proven to work—and what remains unknown. The reviews were generally published or updated from 2003. A search on PubMed Health runs simultaneously in PubMed. A filter is used to identify all the indexed scientific articles at the NLM that might be systematic reviews. This search includes articles from before 2003.

Available to the public from this link - PubMed Health

Red Book Online Red Book Online is one of the main components of the larger resource Micromedex 2.0, which provides evidence-based drug information and clinical answers.
Regional Business News NJ State Library Provides comprehensive full text for regional business publications (including titles from Crain Communications). Full text for more than 50 sources. Updated daily.
REHABDATA REHABDATA, produced by the National Rehabilitation Information Center, is the leading literature database on disability and rehabilitation. The database describes over 65,000 documents covering physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities, independent living, vocational rehabilitation, special education, assistive technology, law, employment, and other issues as they relate to people with disabilities. The collection span 1956 to the present.

Available to the public

REMM
(Radiation Emergency Medical Management)
REMM, the Radiation Emergency Medical Management database, provides guidance about clinical diagnosis and treatment of radiation injuries during radiological and nuclear emergencies. Topics include: kind of emergency, initial event activities, patient management algorithms, management modifiers, and tools and guidelines. There is a downloadable component.

Available to the public

RePORT Expenditures and Results (RePORTER) RePORTER provides access to reports, data, and analyses of NIH research activities, NIH expenditures and the results of NIH-supported research.

Available to the public

Risk Abstracts Provides coverage on risk arising from industrial, technological, environmental, and other sources, with an emphasis on assessment and management of risk. Risk-related concerns ranging from public and environmental health to social issues and psychological aspects are included.
Science.gov Science.gov is a gateway to authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. Government agencies, including research and development results. Enables you to search both government Web sites and databases.

Available to the public

ScienceDirect VALE Includes full text of about 700 of 1100 Elsevier journals. Users can search the entire database or limit to only subscribed titles.
SCImago Journal Rank The SCImago Journal & Country Rank calculates journal influence by looking at both the number of citations received by a journal and the importance of the journal where the citation was published. The SJR indicator is similar to Google Analytic’s PageRank algorithm. This algorithm weights citations from journals according to how highly cited the journal itself is, which differs from the JCR (Journal Citation Reports) which weights all articles identically, regardless of their source. SCImago uses data from SCOPUS, a product similar to the Web of Science, but which covers over 14,000 journal titles.

Available to the public

STAT!Ref Provides full-text medical and drug information for health professionals from an online library of about 50 popular texts.
STAT!Ref UMDNJ Dental Reference Provides full-text information for health professionals from an online library of dental texts.
Structure NCBIThree dimensional structures provide a wealth of information on the biological function and the evolutionary history of macromolecules. They can be used to examine sequence-structure-function relationships, interactions, active sites, and more.

Available to the public

SUMSearch 2 An evidence-based medicine database, SUMSearch simultaneously searches for original studies, systematic reviews, and practice guidelines from multiple sources. Results from PubMed, Dare, and NGC are merged and sorted. Produced by the University of Kansas School of Medicine.

Available to the public

Toxicology Abstracts The database covers issues from social poisons and substance abuse to natural toxins, from legislation and recommended standards to environmental issues.
TOXNET
[Toxicology Data Network]
National Library of MedicineA cluster of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases.

Carcinogenic Potency Database (CPDB)
Chemical Carcinogenesis Research Information System (CCRIS)
ChemIDplus - Dictionary of over 370,000 chemicals
Developmental and Reproductive Toxicology Database (DART)
Drugs and Lactation Database (LactMed)
Genetic Toxicology Data Bank (GENE-TOX)
Hazardous Substances Data Bank
Haz-Map - Occupational exposure to hazardous agents
Household Products Database
Integrated Risk Information System (IRIS)
International Toxicity Estimates for Risk (ITER)
Toxics Release Inventory (TRI) - Annual environmental releases by U.S. facilities
TOXLINE - References from toxicology literature
TOXMAP - Environmental health e-maps

Available to the public

TRIP Database The TRIP Database is a resource for evidence-based medicine, allowing users to easily and rapidly identify the highest quality evidence from a wide range of sources.

Available to the public

Virology and AIDS Abstracts Virology and AIDS Abstracts provides access to the literature on every aspect of virology in humans, animals, and plants with topics ranging from replication cycles to oncology to AIDS.
Web of Science

Tutorial

Web of Science includes data from the Science Citation Index Expanded and the Social Sciences Citation Index. Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 150,000 conference proceedings. You'll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage to 1900.
Wireless System for Emergency Responders
[WISER]
National Library of MedicineWISER provides a wide range of information on hazardous substances, including substance identification support, physical characteristics, human health information, and containment and suppression advice. Includes an interactive Chemical Reactivity capability. Available as WebWISER or as a download for Windows Mobile devices, Palm OS PDAs, Apple iPhone and iPod Touch, BlackBerry devices. (WISER for iPhone/iPod touch is available from Apple's App Store)

Available to the public

Databases starting with:    A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X Y Z 
 
www.libraries.rutgers.edu Copyright © 2013, Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey (Further Copyright Information)